“Change is Good” or “Becoming a School Mum”

One of my friends asked me recently how I was and I honestly said “good, really good”. I told her I felt like I was changing, or that this was the year of change, that I was becoming a “school mum”. She asked me what that meant and to be honest I’m not really sure. I feel like I’m moving beyond the baby phase of parenting, of going to play groups and things, and into a “school mum” phase. To be honest it feels good.

Eden on her first day of Kindy

Eden on her first day of Kindy

When you become a mother, or parent for the first time, it’s a bit of a shock to the system. As much as you prepare for the delivery of your first born you can’t “really” prepare for what parenthood feels like. We are now 4.5 years into this whole parenting gig and I guess it’s starting to feel right. I’m not saying easy, not by any stretch, but I guess we’ve settled into our roles.

Eden in her classroom for the first time. Checking out the activity tables.

Eden in her classroom for the first time. Checking out the activity tables.

I’ve got to say I was emotional taking Eden to school for her first half day. It surprised me because she did go to PreKindy last year and I never really feel like that dropping her off. I think, now that I’ve had time to reflect, that it’s because starting big school is entering into a new phase of life. A phase where Eden learns from others and not just her parents. A time for confidence and resilience. A chance to make new friends and to try new things.

Proud girl :)

Proud girl ๐Ÿ™‚

To be honest we did consider homeschooling for a while. It’s becoming very popular especially in North America. There are a lot of benefits to homeschooling and most arguments against it are often old fashioned and not relevant in most families. We decided though, that this year we weren’t going to go that route. We’re still open to the idea in the future but for this time we feel we’ve made the right decision. I think I wouldn’t have handled it well this year, I’m just getting over a really difficult year for me personally and starting now to feel well. I’ve learned for myself the psychological and spiritual (and of course physical)ย benefits of exercise and taking care of my one body. I still have low days but I’m feeling a lot better and I think the pressure of being responsible for the education of my children is not something I need right now.

My sweeties

My sweeties

I’m excited for Eden for this new adventure that she’s just begun. She loves it so far, and unlike some of the other kids in her class, hasn’t shed a tear when Kate and I say good bye. I’m excited for her to make new friends, and for me too. I’m looking forward to spending some time with my not so little Kate (I can’t believe she’s almost 3). This is going to be a good year, a year of discovery and change for all of us.

Kate started PreKindy, one day a week :)

Kate started PreKindy, one day a week ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s to 2015!

!

!

2 thoughts on ““Change is Good” or “Becoming a School Mum”

  1. So glad to hear that you are enjoying this new season for you…..it is a wonderful feeling to see your child go confidently into school and feel secure enough to be away from you! It will be really special having time with Kate…I remember relishing the moments when I just had Corban at home for a year. Miss you lovely lady xx

  2. Love all of these photos, and especially that last one of Katie ๐Ÿ™‚ So glad this transition time is going so well for all of you, with lots of exciting experiences to look forward to and share. I am especially happy that you both have done such a great job of parenting and preparing your children to face new things with confidence and anticipation…it makes life so much easier ๐Ÿ™‚ Love you guys! xoxo

Leave a Reply

