Living the Dream

Studying/practicing medicine can be a painful topic for me; it’s gone from being a dream 5 or 6 years ago, to being a plan about 3 years ago, and now back to being a dream again, as time presses on relentlessly and logistics appear increasingly insurmountable. Still, I can’t help thinking about it almost everyday, since I subscribe to a few blogs and journals along those lines.

But you know what? In becoming a dad, it dawned on me today that I have become more than I ever could have dreamed, in a matter of only three years at that! …Even if it is in the eyes of a three year old. You see, today I was a Unicorn Doctor, to the royal unicorn himself. And let me tell you, this unicorn was beset by more illnesses and injuries than any ordinary creature could have survived to neigh, meow, or caw about. He had a broken neck, 3 out of 4 twisted legs, a sore horn, and both wings required surgery. It was tough, I’ll admit, but we pulled through. Did I mention that his tail also needed brushing?

This is in addition to my experience as a ferry captain, a farmer, a king, a surgeon, a pilot, a fisherman, an adventurer, a horse, a mommy, and – last but not least – a daddy, the only field in which I possess some legitimate skill. I may never study medicine (other than in the comfort of my home, as a topic of interest), but today is one of those days when I don’t mind, because I’m already living the dream.

20130922-205427.jpg
The King and Queen reigning happily

2 thoughts on “Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

