Welcoming Kate

Hi friends, family, and strangers who happen to have found our blog.

After 10 days of keeping her mostly to ourselves, it’s time to introduce the latest addition to our family.  Kathryn Jane Cross (Kate/Katie) was born at 5:39 pm WA time on the 3rd of March, 2012.  She weighed 3.59 kilos and measured 51.5 cm long – if you’re still not on the metric ship you can look up the conversions online – and has the most wonderfully content behaviour a parent could hope for.

One of Heather's photos of Katie Jane, just a couple days old

There are so many things I (Tim) could say about this birth, but I’ll try to keep it shorter than my undergrad thesis.  In summary, it was a water birth, and it was amazing.  If I had to pick one word to describe the hours leading up to Eden’s entrance into the world, it would be ‘horrible’ (sorry Eden, nothing personal, it was just the most helpless, gruelling, exhausting, discouraging experience of my life, albeit worthwhile); Kate’s, on the other hand, I can honestly describe as ‘incredible.’

It was an incredible time between Kathryn and I.   During Eden’s birth, Kathryn was under the influence of various medical interventions – nitrous oxide gas, fentanyl  – and was required to spend most of labour on her back, in a hospital bed.  This is standard practice in most labour wards in the western world.  She’d had her membranes ruptured several hours into the labour to help “speed things up”, but the primary effect was to increase the pain of contractions enormously, with no substantial change in the rate of progress.  By the time we’d made it to active labour, and in spite of my best efforts to employ strategies and techniques from a great book I’d read called The Birth Partner, Kathryn was basically suffering in body and absent in mind.  I honestly thought I had lost her at one point, when she was muttering things like “I don’t know who I am”, and “what am I doing here??” between contractions.  I thought she was never coming back, and it was truly awful.  I felt useless and almost sick with despair.

Eden's birth may have been rough, but we took home a good prize 🙂

Kate’s birth was all natural.  We spent the morning at home waiting out some mild contractions (Kathryn was woken up by them at 5am), and then decided to head to the birthing centre.  The KEMH Family Birthing Centre is attached to a hospital, but has a much more home-like atmosphere than the average labour ward.  I won’t go into detail other than to say that it’s midwife-led care (no doctor was present for the birth), the rooms are cozy, and they allow water births.  If you’re curious, just click on the name above where I linked to it.

We called our doula, Kristin Beckedahl (owner of BodyWise BirthWise) around 2pm to tell her we were heading out, arrived at about 2:30pm, followed shortly thereafter by her, around 3pm.  Things were pretty easygoing at that point.  Contractions had slowed down a bit due to the ride over (change of atmosphere has a big impact!) and Kathryn was just trying to figure out how she wanted things to be set up.  She declined to have an internal exam, and didn’t have one at any point in the labour, opting rather to ignore distractions and let her body do what it knows how to do.

Around 3pm, I was noticing that Kathryn’s contractions really slowed down whenever she layed or sat down anywhere, so we decided to try a couple standing up.  She was facing me, head resting against various bony protrusions in my sternum/clavicle region, with me whispering encouragement/apologies into her ear.  From there, everything just took off.  Contractions went from being 5-10 minutes apart to 1 or 2, and with each one it was clear that progress was being made.  There was pain, but there was also strength and confidence.

After only about an hour Kathryn was ready to get in the water.  She had taken no pain medication and had no internals.  Her mind was clear and her focus was strong.  I was in awe of her.

Coping with Contractions - the position we were in for all contractions in the pool

The water was quite lovely and warm, so things actually slowed down a little bit as she first got in and relaxed, but in no time she had found her new rhythm and we were in the groove.  Kathryn knelt forward in the pool, arms propped up along one side.  I knelt/crouched opposite her, holding her hands through each contraction, my head tucked in next to hers.  Together we rode through each contraction, me talking/whispering directly into her ear while Kristin (the doula) did simple but incredibly effective things to ease and distract from the pain.  She poured water over Kathryn’s back, applied counter pressure throughout each contraction, and took turns with me passing Kathryn a water cup to sip from.

After about 1 and a half hours in the water, Kate was born.  Underwater.  The midwife gently pushed her forward, between Kathryn’s legs, and Kathryn pulled her out of the water herself.  She came right up between the two of us.  It was amazing.  Kathryn announced that it was a girl, then proceeded to sob with relief and joy, saying “I did it, I can’t believe I did it” whilst holding yet-to-be-named Kate against her chest.  Kate’s skin tone was perfect.  She was kind of choking on some mucous, but nobody whisked her away or intervened; they just sat back and watched as Kathryn and I revelled in the euphoria of new life.  They left the cord to deliver blood and nutrients until after the placenta was delivered.

I love this one - an incredible moment!

Kate entered the world calmly and beautifully, and has more or less remained that way for the first 10 days.  She’s been so great, sleeping well, nursing well, everything we could have hoped for.  Eden seems to adore her, calls her “Baby Cake” and always points out her “tiny ears”, “tiny nose”, “tiny fingers”, etc.  Eden has been a little more needy for cuddles and attention since we brought Kate home, but that’s to be expected.  When Eden wakes up in the morning, the first thing she says most days is “Baby Cake!” and comes running into our room to see her.

So here we are, a family of four, and me outnumbered 3 to 1.  Not sure what our plans are in the long run (not that the ones we’ve made thus far had any impact), but I don’t intend to end up in my father-in-law’s shoes, with a 6:1 female to male ratio in the house.  Surely that man deserves a medal.

Up close and personal with 8 day old Kate

I hope you’ve enjoyed the story of Kate’s birth from my perspective.  If you’re a woman, or the partner of a woman who intends to give birth someday, I implore you to consider water birth.  And get yourself a doula.  Since approximately 0% of our readers are in Perth, I guess a recommendation for Kristin won’t help her out too much, but I’ll give one anyway 🙂  Even if you’re a fantastic and supportive partner, you only have 2 arms and 2 legs, so there’s reason enough to get someone knowledgeable and experienced in there with you.

Thanks to Heather Pye, Tiny Feet Photography and Kelly McEwan Photography, who’ve provided images used in this post.  I hope you continue to use your talent and skill to help preserve fantastic memories and allow others to share their experiences with family and friends around the world.

Home as a family of four!

17 thoughts on “Welcoming Kate

  1. Having been through the birth process twice now, I can’t imagine the horror of being drugged up. I managed to avoid it with both of my girls. But even then the hospital process felt so unnatural and more of a hinderance. I think round 3 a doula will be consulted….But more to the point, it sounded like an amazing experience. Congratulations Tim, Kathryn and of course, big sister Eden!! Kate looks perfect!

  2. This is such a great post Tim – I was teary more than once! Way to go Cross family – so very very pleased and thankful that you had such a great birth experience and that ‘Baby Cakes’ is doing so well! Lot of love from the Wards!

  3. Now this was wonderful to read. You made my day, and my heart sing! I am so glad for all of you. What a treasured memory for all of you. May God give you all grace and peace as you go forward. I love and miss you Tim! Congratulations!!!

  4. Beautiful, Tim and Kathryn!!!!!! And wonderful, wonderful Little ones!!!!! Blessings and prayers from Alberta where I’m hangin’ out with the grandkids.

    Bonnie

  5. What a lovely write up Tim and photo’s. My Cousin and her husband, will be having a child in Australia in May. I think I will forward some of the info you included in your post to her on the hospital see if they have something like that near them. All the best to you and your family

  6. Beautiful story, Tim…thanks for sharing. I’m so happy that everything went smoothly and continues to go well. She is simply adorable. I admit I teared up a little as I read this.
    Take care and love you!

  7. I laughed, I cried…and was so moved by the incredible telling of your journey together of bringing Kate into this world. What a wonderful and warm way for Kate to begin life outside the protective shelter she had been nurtured in for 9 months. Thanks to both of you for sharing and for the awesome gift of two beautiful loving granddaughters….we feel so privileged. With much love & prayers for all of you! Nana and Grampy xoxoxoxo

  8. WOW. What a beautiful story… so encouraging, so inspiring, I’m SO glad it went smoothly! Praise God. Your family is so beautiful, I am just full of happiness for you. Thank you so much Tim for sharing this with us, it means so much to me and all of your readers I’m sure. I wish more people would share their birth stories! I hope to have a water birth some day as well, probably won’t be this time sadly, but oh well. Love you guys and enjoy these moments!!

    p.s. LOVE the photos too. They really add to the story.

  9. Yes!! You did it and you did an amazing job – both of you. I did water birth with my first- freakin’amazing. It was the plan for my second but my body didn’t agree and he was born on my hands and knees instead. I’m glad you got to feel the peaceful rush afterwards, I think that’s the best part!! And you don’t get this amazing experience and feeling when you are drugged. 🙂 (apparently- I did both births with a midwife and no drugs, not even an IV). Congrats guys!!!

  10. Thanks for a wonderful and touching account of Kate’s entry into the world. We were so happy to hear that you had such a more positive experience with her birth. My (Solveig’s) neighbour growing up is a doula and gave birth to her son at home underwater, so I can now say that I’ve personally known two people to go that route, and have a very positive and comfortable experience. Thanks again for sharing, and continue to enjoy this special bonding time as a family! Blessings to you both!

    A bath AND a baby all at once? Sounds like a win-win situation to me. I won’t bother saying things like “Oh, you’ll be such great parents”, because Eden agrees that you already are. Just make sure to have a boy before Tim starts to forget how to interact with the non-female gender! Love you all!

    Jean-Veig

  11. What a great read! Thank you Tim. As your doula it was an absolute pleasure to support you both in Kate’s birth.

    Would you mind if I shared a link to your blog from my BodyWise BirthWise Facebook page or website? I think a lot of Dad’s will benefit from reading your entry with its honest perspective.
    ~ Kristin 🙂

    • Hey Kristin, of course you can share it! I hope it does help other dads prepare a bit better for being a birth companion, and that it helps them make wise choices as to how they manage their childrens’ births.

  12. Wonderful read, amazing birth and great to hear from a dads perspective! Would have loved to have bub #2 at King Eddy family birthing centre and as a water birth, just a shame they dont take previous c-sections 😦

  13. Pingback: One Year « K & T

Leave a Reply

