Menu Plan Monday: January 28 – February 6

I bought a slowcooker on Saturday. I wasn’t sure if I was going to buy another one since moving to Perth, but the heat wave we’ve been having (+40 degrees Celsius every day) changed my mind – and the fact that I’m 36 weeks pregnant. By 4pm I pretty much have no energy left to stand in a hot kitchen and cook something so I figured getting a slowcooker would be worth the investment (of $25…at Big W, aka Walmart). I’ve also missed making my yogurt and since we’ve been having smoothies all the time it’s nice to have plain yogurt to throw in it. Eden LOVES yogurt, it’s probably her snack of choice these days, so making it in the slowcooker is much more frugal.

That said the meals this week are centered on slowcooker recipes. Since Tim’s not going to be around for 10 days I need to be somewhat organized when it comes to meals so Eden and I don’t just end up eating pbj sandwiches, or bread and cheese all the time. I also want to make sure I don’t have a lot of work to do during the pre-supper time because Eden normally needs a lot of attention (when Daddy comes home and plays with her normally) and I want to make sure we’re eating veggies.

To be honest I’ve been finding this summer cooking thing difficult. Tim and I like salads and other cold meals but Eden doesn’t really eat raw veggies so I’m finding it difficult to think of meals that we can all eat and enjoy together. I’m also finding that making raw meals like salads takes more work at supper time and doesn’t last as long (normally we get 1 meal, maybe lunch the next day) before they go bad. If you have any summer recipes that contradict what I’ve said please share them in the comments!

That said, here is my meal plan for the next 9 days! For most of these recipes I can do the prep in the mornings when I have energy and Eden is happy.

Breakfasts: We normally eat breakfast cereal but I do plan on making Apple Pie Steel-Cut Oats for Saturday morning as a treat

Lunches: Quesadillas (beans, cheese, salsa, corn, peppers, baked), eggs, shaved ham with cheese and bread, leftovers, canned beans (these are all things Eden will eat usually)

Suppers:

S: Pulled Pork Sandwiches and Garden Salad

M: Leftover Pulled Pork (make yogurt over night)

T: Supper with friends

W: CrockPot Mac and Cheese with Frozen Peas (Eden loves frozen peas and corn, she’ll eat them when they’re still frozen for a snack!)

T: Supper with friends

F: Left over Mac and Cheese (make Apple Pie Steel-Cut OatsΒ over night)

S: Homemade Pizza (clean out fridge meal)

S:Β CrockPot Pesto Fish, Rice, and Frozen Veg

M:Leftovers

Tim doesn’t return until Wednesday night but I think I’m going to leave the last 2 days for now because I’m not really sure what I’m going to have left in the fridge. I don’t want to waste food and we’ll definitely go through a lot less with him gone.

So there you have it, enough meals to feed us until Tim gets home Wednesday evening! Hopefully nothing unforeseen will happen, like me going into early labour while he’s away. I’m really nervous about him leaving for that long but I’ve been trying to stay positive about it. It’s definitely going to be a test for me, especially since I’ve been so tired lately with the whole pregnancy thing. Please keep us all in your thoughts and prayers this week. We would love to hear from you via comments or phone calls so feel free to touch base, but don’t forget about the 12 hour time difference if you’re calling from Canada’s East Coast… And please don’t feel offended if I can’t talk for long, life is unpredictable with a toddler and I like to nap when she does:)

12 thoughts on “Menu Plan Monday: January 28 – February 6

  1. Amazing Kathryn! Our easiest summer meal is pasta salad a la easy: lots of whole wheat noodles (I like the spiral ones), little cubes of cheese, and anything veg the kids will eat (small diced cucumber, tiny broccoli, peppers etc), then any salad dressing you like (we tend to go with the Greek oregano Kraft kind, but anything works). When the kids were little, I would take some of the veggies (saved during prep), microwave them a bit – just until they were soft enough to chew – and feed them that. That way mine stayed crunchy in the fridge for days, and I always had at least noodles that the boys could eat!

  2. Thanks for sharing, Kathryn! I got a slow cooker for Christmas – I’m so going to try that Mac & Cheese πŸ˜€ Couple questions: do you put the frozen peas in with the rest of the Crockpot ingredients, or cook them and mix them in afterward? Also, for the quesadillas, what kind of beans & corn do you use? Frozen? And when you say baked, do you just fry them up in a frying pan and put them in a tortilla? Sorry, I am pretty clueless in the kitchen πŸ˜›

    • Hello Jessica, I think I’ll just serve the peas on the side:) I like to try recipes as they are for the first time before I make any adjustments. You should read some of the comments on that mac and cheese recipe though because some people that tried it didn’t find it worked out very well and there are suggestions on hoe to make it better. For the quesadillas I just lay out some wraps, open a can of beans (kidney or black – I can’t seem to find black beans here anywhere though) and rinse. I spread some salsa on the wraps, then add beans, frozen corn (that’s still frozen) and whatever else you like. The most recent ones I put some green onion and red pepper in and of course cheese. I rolled them, put them in a baking dish, grated a bit more cheese over top and baked them at probably 350 until they were starting to brown a bit (aka warm inside with melted cheese). You should try it, they are really yummy and you really could put anything in them you like. Let me know how they turn out!

      • Mmm! Thanks for spelling it out for me πŸ™‚ I will definitely give them a try & let you know how they turn out!

  3. I would love to know how you do your yogurt. I heat mine on the stove and culture it in the oven with the light on, but it’s never QUITE warm enough. The yogurt is fine, just a bit runny. I tried it in the crockpot once but could NOT keep it from getting too hot. Ruined the whole batch. What’s your method?

    • Hey Emily, I made it a number of times in the crock pot and it’s definitely not thick yogurt. You can always strain some whey out if you want it thicker. I linked up to the recipe but it’s pretty simple. Pour 2L of full cream milk into slowcooker. Cook on low for 2 hours. Turn off and let sit for 3 hours, meanwhile take 1/2c starter yogurt out of the fridge to come up to room temperature. After the 3 hours take out some milk and mix it with the yogurt then pour back into the slowcooker and stir a bit. Wrap slowcooker in a few towels for insulation and then let it sit over night or all day (you just leave it unplugged).

      Now that said, I made a batch today and I”m not too sure about how it turned out. It’s a new slowcooker and the climate is much different here so I let you know how it tastes tomorrow when it’s cooled down (not really into warm yogurt). It seemed like a funny texture to me so I’m not sure…Good luck!

  4. This really makes me want to dust off the slow cooker and try some of these recipes. Now to find some steel cut oats – going to look at Bulk Barn tomorrow. Hope all is going well.
    Love you!

  5. I used to eat frozen corn & peas when I was a kid as a snack! We called it “popsicle corn” and it sounds like the perfect way to eat veggies in Australia…

  6. Hi Kathryn, Sounds like a great summer meal plan; glad to hear your friends are helping out, especially with the first week Tim is away; this will be beneficial in more ways than one πŸ™‚ Take good care of yourself! You all are in our prayers as this will be a different experience for each of you, but you have lots of love and support coming your way! Luv, Mom C XOXO to Eden

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: February 6 – 13 and Whole Food Kitchen Kick-off « K & T

Leave a Reply

