Coming to terms…

There are only about 3 weeks left until the med school curriculum begins at Dalhousie… which means time is running out for me to get called off the waitlist.  It’s tough, coming so close and then missing out on the opportunity, especially after all the time and money invested in the preparation/application process, but it’s really what I should have expected.  According to the 2010 CaRMS report on Canadians Studying Abroad, it takes an average of 2.59 applications to get into a Canadian med school, so even if I get in after 2 years I’ll be better-than-average… still, it’s hard not to get your hopes up.  I don’t know if I’m going to apply again this year, since I just don’t have the money to gamble, but I’m torn.  Why does med school have to be made for the already rich?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Coming to terms…

  1. It IS hard, Tim. Waiting is the hardest way to demonstrate trust. May God guide each and every step and decision for you, Kathryn and Eden.

    Love you!

    Bonnie

  2. Aww, sorry to hear this discouraging news =( It’s a tough call when trying to pinch pennies, but I’d definitely encourage you to keep trying & apply again. You’d be a great doctor!

    Cue the Tom Petty song:

    “The waiting is the hardest part
    Every day you get one more yard
    You take it on faith, you take it to the heart
    The waiting is the hardest part”

  3. Thanks for the comments Jessica and Bonnie.

    I guess I’m at the point now where I’m actually used to waiting, even okay with it. The part that’s discouraging is that it costs so much money just to have a shot at getting in, especially when your chances are so slim to begin with. I could apply to more schools to increase my chances, but when you consider the cost to fly to those schools for interviews (plus time off work), it’s just not worth the investment. It’s truly not even an option.

    My chiropractor has encouraged me to consider going into chiropractic as an alternative, but I’m concerned that I wouldn’t have the same reach that I would as a doctor (seems like more of a service for the wealthy, or at least those with benefits). However, she did make a very interesting statement that’s been brewing in my mind for a while, which was basically: “You need to figure out for yourself what kind of healer you want to be” – I’ve been thinking a lot about that statement, and about my motivation for going into medicine, and what other opportunities could fulfill that desire to be a “healer”.

    Anyway, I appreciate your thoughts, prayers, and comments, as always!

  4. This just found in a random twitter bio I happened to come across while working at Radian6 (clearly from a non-native english speaker, but interestingly relevant):

    “Its hard to wait for something you know might never happen , but its even harder to give up you know its everything you want”

Leave a Reply

