Better Rhubarb Muffins

I posted a Rhubarb Muffin recipe a while ago I decided that I wanted to make them again but with oats.  So I used one of my favourite recipes for blueberry or cranberry oat muffins, altered it a bit and the result was delicious!  I’m not sure where the original recipe came from (probably the internet), but I think I’ve altered it enough to call it my own!

Fresh from the oven - mmmmm!

Better Rhubarb Muffins

1 heaping cup of large flake oats

3/4 c whole wheat flour

3/4 c white flour (you can just use 1 1/2 c of whole wheat but DON”T use muffin papers or you’ll be eating them)

1/4 c sugar

1 Tbsp baking powder

1 tsp salt (I normally don’t measure, just sprinkle some in)

1 heaping tsp of cinnamon

1 egg (or 3Tbsp water and 1Tbsp of ground flax, I used an egg this time)

1 c milk

1/4 c oil (I use  1/2Tbsp of chia seed mixed with 1/4c water)

1 heaping cup of rhubarb (or whatever you want, I’ve used both blueberries and cranberries (NOT dried) in this recipe and all were delicious)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

Mix dry ingredients. In a separate bowl mix wet ingredients. Stir together then fold in rhubarb.

Fill muffin cups and bake for 15-18mins (mine were perfect in 15).

Enjoy!

****Alternatives to Rhubarb: Blueberries, Cranberries, Apple chunks, Banana…the options are endless. I just used this base recipe and made banana chocolate chip (heaping cup of mashed banana, chocolate chips and omitted cinnamon and added a splash of vanilla) and apple current (heaping cup of apple chunks and some dried currents) really you could use what ever you like. Let me know what you’ve tried! *****

Jam-packed with delicious oats and rhubarb chunks 😀

Leave a Reply

