It’s Rhubarb Season

Pamela and Jessica (one of Tim’s co-workers) both gave me some rhubarb this week! First we enjoyed rhubarb crisp made by Melinda who stayed with us for a few days with Tyler and Samuel, what a treat it was! Then I made rhubarb muffins (recipe below) and stewed rhubarb to pour over ice cream. I still have lots left and am looking for some more unusual recipes to use it in, maybe some savory dishes! Anyone have suggestions?

Eden joined in on the fun!

When it comes to muffins I have an opinion on what constitutes one.  I like my muffins to have healthy components (whole wheat flour, oats, nuts, ground flax, etc.), I like them to be delicious, and I like them big! I don’t consider something the shape of a muffin, that’s all white flour, has lots of sugar and butter, and maybe chocolate chips or blueberries to be a muffin, especially if it has sugar sprinkled on top… Those are cupcakes to me. I believe a muffin doesn’t need a “topping” and it should be something you don’t feel guilty about eating. Too often cupcakes are disguised as muffins and then people eat them thinking they’re healthy.  That said, here’s my muffin recipe. I altered this recipe to make them healthier and could definitely alter them more. I’m just beginning to alter recipes and subsitute ingredients, I don’t understand the chemistry of it all so I do it slowly. I’ll probably be making these muffins again and I’ll update this post with the changes I made.

Rhubarb Muffins

2c diced Rhubarb

1c white flour

1 1/2c whole wheat flour

1tsp baking soda

pinch of salt

3/4c packed brown sugar (I could have even reduced more)

1/2c water and chia seed (oil sub)

1 egg

1c yogurt

1tsp vanilla

Combine dry ingredients (flours, baking soda, salt). Combine wet ingredients (others minus rhubarb). Pour wet onto dry and combine. Stir in rhubarb. Bake 350degrees F for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Enjoy!!!

FYI: I love my silicone muffin cups, like these. No extra fat or paper needed! I got mine on kijiji for $3 (for 12).

Delicious!

5 thoughts on “It’s Rhubarb Season

  1. You really changed my mind about rhubarb! Loved both the muffins and the ice cream topping – thanks so much!! Glad it didn’t go to waste 🙂
    P.S. – Eden is so adorable

  2. Those look so good, I wish someone would give me some rhubarb! Maybe it’s not rhubarb season yet… I made a chicken dish with rhubarb stuff on it last year, it was actually pretty tasty! I’ll try to email it to you soon…. also thanks for the tip on the muffin cups, I have been thinking about those and now I think I will have to go for it.

    Oh also I am watching Away We Go right now and it’s awesome!! I’ve always remembered you did a little review of it so I thought I’d like it.

  3. I came across this “rhubarb punch” recipe. Haven’t tried it yet, but let me know if you do!

    Rhubarb Punch
    Boil together for 5 minutes: 1 cup sugar, 1 cup cold water, ¼ tsp cream of tartar
    Cool. Simmer together: 5 cups cut-up rhubarb, 2 ½ cups water, 1 cinnamon stick, 5 whole oranges, 1 orange rind
    When tender, strain. Add the syrup, and if desired, the juice of one orange. Chill. Serve mixed half & half with iced water.

  4. Pingback: Better Rhubarb Muffins « K & T

Leave a Reply

