Menu Plan Monday

I’ve decided to start meal planning. I have attempted this before without success because I wouldn’t “feel” like making what I had already decided for that day. We’ll see how it goes this time around. I feel like I need to get organized for when this baby arrives so that we actually eat good food rather than last minute unhealthy meals…or eat out, which is expensive.  I was pretty successful last week with my meal plan – I didn’t want to post it because I wanted to see how I did. I got all the groceries I needed for the week on Monday (after making the meal plan with my recipe book and the flyers close at hand). So here goes week two.

One thing I must add though is that I use it more of a guide line. We ate most of the meals last week that I had planned but not always on the days that I had planned them. I feel that this kind of flexibility is okay for me! I also noticed that we had a lot of leftovers…way more than we could eat in the one designated left over day, so I planned for 2 leftover days this week and hopefully we wont have to waste food.

MONDAY: Garlic Chicken and Spinach over Pasta and Slow Cooker Tomato Herb      Bread

TUESDAY: Pad Thai Burgers with Peanut Sauce (recipe came with a coupon for VH Pad Thai sauce) and Roaster Potatoes – all cooked on our “new to us” BBQ!

WEDNESDAY: Leftovers!

THURSDAY: Slow Cooker Italian Herb Chicken on Rice

FRIDAY: Pork Kebabs, Couscous, Roasted Potatoes, and Salad (we’re thinking of having someone over this day, anyone interested?)

SATURDAY: Leftovers!

SUNDAY: Fathers Day – we may go out or I’ll make something that Tim requests

So that’s it! I hope it works out because I picked some delicious recipes to follow. None of them are online so I can’t link to them. But if they’re exceptionally delicious I’ll share them on here.

I’m supposed to go and do laundry today…we have to use the laundromat. But it’s absolutely pouring rain out and I don’t really want to go outside… It’s a bit of a predicament because we absolutely HAVE to do laundry today (Tim has no underwear left and we have no clean towels…). I might wait a bit longer and see if it clears up a bit. In the mean time I’m going to put that bread in the slow cooker (this is an experiment so we’ll see how it turns out)!

Check out I’m an Organizing Junkie for more great meal ideas as well as practical ideas for organizing your life (this is one of my newest favourite blogs to follow).

2 thoughts on “Menu Plan Monday

  1. YAY!!! So excited for you…. and your dishes all sounds AMAZING. Especially the pad thai burgers… and well, everything sounds amazing! I hope the menu planning works out for you. I think flexibility is KEY in making it work. Just do what works for you! We actually didn’t get to the grocery store because of the rain so we have leftover spaghetti tonight 🙂 I find we eat most of the leftovers for lunch, but you definitely have to get used to how many meals to make in a week. Good luck this week 🙂

Leave a Reply

